DentalWriter Forum

Your central resource for DentalWriter posts, blogs, training resources, faq's, and more.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 1:09:43 PM(UTC)

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
I am trying to pre authorize a sinus lift through health insurance(Kaiser). I think 21210 is the right code to use. This is my first time trying to claim dental work through a health insurance. Any pointer and tips will be helpful

Thank you
courtneydsnow
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 4:42:06 PM(UTC)
courtneydsnow

Was thanked: 51 time(s) in 51 post(s)
Hi guest!

No problem, below are some coding options for you:

D6104 = Bone Graft at Time of Implant Placement

D7952 = Sinus Augmentation Via a Vertical Approach

D7951 = Sinus augmentation with bone or bone substitutes via a lateral open approach

D7953 = Bone Replacement Graft for Ridge Preservation

and:

21210 = Graft, bone; nasal, maxillary or malar areas (includes obtaining graft) “sinus lift”

21215 = Graft, bone; mandible (includes obtaining graft)

So - some insurers will prefer you use the CPT codes for the bone graft at time of implant placement and the sinus augmentation, but you will also find insurers that will prefer you use the "D" codes listed above on the medical claim form when billing for these procedures! Also, some insurers may consider these procedures "Dental in Nature Oral Surgery" services, depending on their medical policies guidelines.

For example, here is a link to Aetna's medical policy titled "Dental Services and Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery: Coverage Under Medical Plans", and include sinus lifts:
http://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/1_99/0082.html

Here is another example, UHC Oxford policy titled "DENTAL AND ORAL SURGICAL PROCEDURES"
https://www.oxhp.com/secure/policy/dental_and_oral_surgical_procedures.pdf

Hope this helps, have a great day!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 25, 2017 6:57:38 PM(UTC)